an additional "representation allowance" of \$3,000. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional amount of \$6,000 and the Speaker of the Legislature receives \$9,600 which is an amount equal to double the indemnity and expense allowance of an individual member.

26.-Legislatures of Manitoba, 1945-66, as at Oct. 1, 1966

Nove.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 80; for 1924-36 in the 1938 edition, p. 115; and for 1937-45 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 88.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Oct. 15, 1945 Nov. 10, 1949 June 8, 1953 June 16, 1958 May 14, 1959 Dec. 14, 1962 June 23, 1966	22nd. 23rd 23th. 25tb. 26tb. 27tb. 27tb. 28th.	2 5 5	Feb. 19, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950 Feb. 2, 1954 Oct. 23, 1958 June 9, 1959 Feb. 28, 1963	Sept. 29, 1949 Apr. 23, 1953 Apr. 30, 1958 Mar. 31, 1959 Nov. 9, 1962 May 18, 1966

¹ Not yet in session by Oct. 1, 1966.

27.—Fifteenth Ministry of Manitoba, as at Oct. 1, 1966

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 23, 1966: 31 Progressive Conservative, 14 Liberal, 11 New Democratic Party and 1 Social Credit.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
 Premier, President of the Council, Minister of Dominion-Provincial Relations and Minis- ter charged with the administration of the Manitoba Development Authority Act Provincial Treasurer, Minister charged with the administration of the Insurance Act and Minister of Mines and Natural Resources Provincial Secretary, Minister of Public Works, Minister of Public Utilities and Minister in all other offices to which, and 	Hon. DUFFBRIN ROBLIN Hon. Edward Gurney Vaux Evans	June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958	
under all statutes under which, he has been appointed or designated as Minister.	Hon. STEWART E. MCLEAN	June 30, 1958	July 22, 1966
Attorney-General and Minister of Tourism and Recreation. Minister of Education. Minister of Welfare. Minister of Health. Minister of Highways. Minister of Labour. Minister without Portfolio.	Hon. Sterling Rufus Lyon Hon. George Johnson, Hon. John B. Carroll. Hon. Charles H. Witney. Hon. Watter Weir. Hon. Obje Baizley. Hon. Robert G. Smellie. Hor. Mattand Bernard Stein-	June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958 Aug. 7, 1959 Oct. 31, 1961 Feb. 27, 1963 Feb. 27, 1963	Feb. 27, 1963
Minister without Portfolio	KOPF	June 12, 1963	July 22, 1966
Minister of Urban Development and Munici- pal Affairs Minister of Industry and Commerce Minister of Agriculture and Conservation	Hon. Thelma Forses Hon. Sidney Spivak Hon. Harry Enns	July 22, 1966 July 22, 1966 July 22, 1966 July 22, 1966	July 22, 1966 July 22, 1966 July 22, 1966

Subsection 8.--Saskatchewan

The Government of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1905) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 115; since that date the office has been held by the Hon. F. L. Bastedo, commissioned to office Jan. 27, 1958, followed by the Hon. Robert L. Hanbidge, commissioned to office Mar. 1, 1963.

The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 59, elected for a maximum term of five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 115; the Hon. W S. Lloyd became Premier in 1961 and the Hon. W. R. Thatcher in 1964.